By Erik S. Hanley

MEQUON - The Mequon-Thiensville School District named three teachers Outstanding Educators of the Year for 2016-17.

Sherry Hovey, Hilary James, and Monica Treptow were nominated by their colleagues for their passion, professionalism, and dedication to excellence in education.

The nominees had to complete an application process that was reviewed by a selection committee. The committee then votes on award distribution at the district level.


“What’s remarkable is that all those who nominated these three educators commented on their ability to build a relationship with each child,” said Executive Director of Human Capital Sarah Zelazoski. “The passion and skill that these educators have demonstrated in personalizing student learning is admirable.”

Hovey is a speech and language pathologist who serves the younger students in the district. She helps with speech therapy needs, including helping some students who are non-verbal.

The press release from the school district said her colleagues say her "ability to assess the needs of students is exemplary." It further said her co-workers say to see her work is "to see magic happen."

James is a kindergarten teacher at Wilson Elementary School and serves as the 4K department chair. Her colleagues suggest "her ability to seamlessly combine academics with positive social interactions that are both structured and joyful is magical to witness," the release said.

A research and digital learning specialist at Wilson Elementary School, Treptow was nominated by her colleagues and a parent. The release said she inspires students, parents, and co-workers with "intelligence, enthusiasm, professionalism, and creativity.”

The three Outstanding Educators of the Year will be recognized in May at the MTSD Staff Recognition Celebration.